I’m tired of playing the role of ‘The Strong Black Woman.’ I want to be taken care of for once. I want to be pampered and supported. I want the tears wiped from my eyes in my moment of weakness. I want to be free to be imperfect. I want to have my needs met without being labeled as needy. I want to be looked at as feminine and not hard. I want to embrace my strengths but also acknowledge my vulnerabilities. I want to be free to be me and not imprisoned behind bars that define my existence in a one-dimensional way.

13124615_527093920811320_5533603653299509657_n

 

Leave a Reply

